Sussex Stuart Hall Foundation PhD Studentships 2027: Who Can Apply

Up to two Sussex PhD studentships with the Stuart Hall Foundation for 2027-28: who is eligible, what the funding covers, the one PG Apply application and the 10 December 2026, 16:00 GMT deadline.
Sussex Stuart Hall Foundation PhD Studentships 2027: Who Can Apply
Sussex Stuart Hall Foundation PhD Studentships 2027: Who Can Apply

The University of Sussex (Sussex) and the Stuart Hall Foundation (SHF) are offering up to two funded PhD studentships for the 2027-28 intake, inside Sussex’s Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Doctoral Landscape Award (DLA) programme. They are ring-fenced: you must be a UK-permanent resident who is Black British or British from an ethnic minority background, and you must win a place on a PhD programme in Sussex’s Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities. Sussex describes the scheme as “a positive action initiative under the Equality Act 2010.”

If you fit, the package is substantial. It covers UK PhD tuition fees, a stipend at UK Research Council rates (currently £21,805 a year, the 2026-2027 rate), some research and training costs, and a funded three-month placement, for 3.75 years in total. There is one application for both the PhD place and the funding, and it closes on 10 December 2026 at 16:00 GMT (4pm GMT on Thursday 10 December 2026).

This guide is for people deciding whether to apply and how to build a file that is complete on the day. It explains who is eligible in plain language, what the money does and does not cover, the single application and its funding-box wording (the two official adverts print it differently), and which figures the official pages do and do not confirm.

Facts below were checked against the official University of Sussex and Stuart Hall Foundation pages on 19 October 2026. Three pages matter most: Sussex’s own advert for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships (called “the Sussex advert” below), the Foundation’s announcement of the 2027 call, and Sussex’s parent advert for the wider AHRC Doctoral Landscape Award competition (“the parent advert”). Amounts are quoted as printed, in pounds sterling, with no conversions. Times are given only in GMT, the time zone Sussex and the Foundation print.

Quick facts

ItemDetailsSource
PlacesUp to 2 Stuart Hall Foundation studentshipsSussex advert
LevelPhD, full-time or part-timeSussex advert
FacultyMedia, Arts and HumanitiesSussex advert
Who can applyUK-permanent residents who are Black British or British from an ethnic minority backgroundSussex advert
CountriesUnited Kingdom onlySussex advert
TuitionUK PhD tuition feesSussex and SHF
StipendUK Research Council rate, currently £21,805 a year (2026-2027)Sussex and DLA adverts
Length3.75 years full-time; 7.25 years part-timeSussex advert
StartAutumn 2027 (advert says October 2027)Sussex advert
Deadline10 December 2026, 16:00 GMTSussex and SHF
How to applyOne PG Apply application for the place and the fundingSussex advert

Who these studentships suit (and who should look elsewhere)

Likely a good fit

  • You are a UK-permanent resident, you identify as Black British or as British from an ethnic minority background (the exact definitions are quoted in the eligibility section), and you will live in the UK for the whole PhD.
  • Your project sits in arts and humanities and could be hosted by the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities. The faculty page lists its specialisms as “English, History, Art History, Philosophy, Media, Film, Music and Language Studies” and a range of PhD degrees; the 2027 studentship pages do not confirm that every listed degree can hold the award.
  • You can start a PhD in autumn 2027, full-time or part-time. Sussex says “No distinction is made during the selection process” between the two.
  • You have an outstanding academic record, or equivalent experience at an outstanding level in higher education, outside it, or in the creative and heritage sectors. Sussex says it encourages people who have worked in relevant sectors, are changing disciplines or career paths, or are returning from career breaks such as caring responsibilities.
  • You already hold a Sussex PhD offer deferred to autumn 2027 and want to be considered for funding again. There is a separate, shorter route for you.

Probably not for you (yet)

  • You are an international applicant. The Sussex advert lists one eligible country, the United Kingdom, and requires UK-permanent residence. Sussex’s wider AHRC Doctoral Landscape Award competition for arts and humanities is open to international students, but there the AHRC covers only the UK home fee rate and the difference to the international fee (£18,262 in 2026-2027) “must be met from other sources.”
  • You have already started a doctorate. Sussex says current doctoral researchers “are not eligible for scholarships through the Landscape Award.”
  • Your research belongs in another faculty. The studentship requires a place in the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities and research within the AHRC remit. The wider Sussex funding landscape also includes the separate Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) funded SEDarc competition, covered in our SEDarc studentship 2027-2028 guide. If you are considering that route, check its own research scope and eligibility requirements rather than assuming that every social-science project qualifies.
  • You need relocation, visa or NHS surcharge costs paid. The scholarship “does not cover relocation, visa, or NHS surcharge costs.”
  • You are looking for a master’s award or a “one year master’s plus three year PhD” package. This is a PhD studentship; no master’s year is described on the 2027 pages.

If you are open to other universities, our guide to the Durham PhD Studentships in Transformative Humanities 2027 covers another AHRC Doctoral Landscape Award route with its own eligibility and deadline. Treat it as a comparison, not as a Sussex rule.

What the studentship pays for

ElementWhat Sussex and the Foundation print
TuitionUK PhD tuition fees
StipendAt UK Research Council rates, “currently £21,805 p.a.” (the parent DLA advert dates this to 2026-2027)
Research costs“Some research and training costs (e.g. conferences, participant costs, overseas fieldwork, language training, placement costs)”
TrainingMembership of “a regional hub providing innovative training and development opportunities”
PlacementA funded 3-month placement, done flexibly (part-time or in several blocks)
Duration3.75 years full-time (3.5-year project plus placement); same funding over 7.25 years part-time
Not coveredRelocation, visa and NHS surcharge costs

Three points are worth reading slowly.

  1. The stipend figure is the current rate, not a promise for 2027-28. Sussex prints “currently £21,805 p.a.” and the parent advert labels it the 2026-2027 rate. Neither page states the 2027-28 rate, so this guide does not estimate one.
  2. “Some” research and training costs means a limited budget, not every cost. Neither the Sussex advert nor the Foundation’s announcement gives a figure. The parent advert says “Research and Training Support Grants will be available up to £2000, with the possibility of accessing more funds for high-cost fieldwork.” That figure comes from the parent advert only.
  3. Part-time is the same money over a longer period. Sussex says “Part-time students will have the same amount of funding, but this will be spread across 7.25 years (7 years for the PhD project and a 3-month placement).”

Sussex’s PhD funding list describes these as “fully-funded” Arts and Humanities PhD scholarships. For this award, Sussex lists UK PhD tuition fees, a stipend at UK Research Council rates, some research and training costs, and a funded three-month placement. The Foundation’s announcement and the parent advert add that the scholarship does not cover relocation, visa or NHS surcharge costs, so budget for moving costs yourself if you need to relocate to live within reach of Sussex.

What the Stuart Hall Foundation adds

The Stuart Hall Foundation describes its work this way: “Inspired by the life and work of Professor Stuart Hall, SHF works collaboratively to forge creative partnerships committed to public education and addressing urgent questions of race and inequality in culture and society.” The Foundation says it is “delighted to continue working with the University of Sussex”, so this is a continuing partnership rather than a one-off call.

Beyond the AHRC funding, the adverts list three things that come with being a Stuart Hall Foundation postgraduate researcher:

  • A cohort. Recipients work with the Foundation “to develop their career and research profile, forming a cohort of SHF PGRs at Sussex.”
  • Access to the Foundation’s networks. They “enjoy privileged access to the work of the Foundation to be able to engage with and contribute to its resources and networks, including the annual gathering of Stuart Hall Foundation Scholars and Fellows.”
  • The Peer Network. The Foundation says successful applicants “will be invited to join the Stuart Hall Foundation Peer Network where they can benefit from a programme including regular events and opportunities to develop their career and research profile.”

The Foundation partnership adds opportunities for peer networking, engagement with its resources and networks, and career and research profile development.

Eligibility, line by line

Identity and residence

To be eligible for the Stuart Hall Foundation award, Sussex says a candidate must meet one of two definitions, quoted here exactly:

  • “Be Black British (UK-permanent residents identifying as being from any Black ethnic group (including Black or Black British African, Black or Black British Caribbean, Black or Black British other or Mixed Black or Black British)”
  • “Be a British person from an Ethnic Minority Background (UK-permanent residents identifying as being from any Black Ethnic group, any Asian Ethnic group or from an Ethnic minority group including white minorities, such as Gypsy, Roma and Irish Traveller groups)”

So the scheme is wider than “Black British only”. You must also “Be resident within the UK for the duration of their studies and live within a reasonable distance of their host university (except for periods of fieldwork or when attending conferences).”

The official pages do not explain how UK-permanent residence or ethnic background is evidenced. If you are unsure whether your circumstances fit, ask the Sussex Researcher School (contacts below) before the deadline rather than guessing.

Academic background

  • Sussex asks for “an outstanding academic record, or equivalent experience of working at an outstanding level in a relevant domain in an HEI or non-HEI, or relevant experience in the creative and heritage sectors.” (HEI means higher education institution.)
  • The Foundation’s page adds that eligible applicants “will already have completed a relevant Masters, or have relevant work experience.”
  • Sussex’s usual general PhD entry requirements are “at least an upper second-class (2:1) undergraduate honours degree” and “a Masters degree if you are applying for research degrees in the arts or social sciences”, and it “will also consider candidates who can demonstrate appropriate alternative learning such as experience gained in the workplace or professional qualifications.” Each PhD degree also lists its own requirements, so check the page for the degree you choose.

The PhD place and start date

  • You must “Apply for and be offered a place on a PhD programme at the University of Sussex in the Faculty of Media, Arts, and Humanities.” New applicants and holders of deferred Sussex PhD offers can both apply.
  • You must “Expect to begin their PhD studies in autumn 2027”. The Sussex advert says the studentships are “available to start in October 2027”; the parent advert says “commencing in September 2027”. Plan for autumn 2027 and confirm the exact start with Sussex when you receive an offer.
  • The parent advert adds that “The scheme is open to candidates whose research falls within the remit of the AHRC.”
  • The official pages do not confirm whether every degree in the faculty, including a PhD by Published Works, is eligible for this award. Check the eligibility of your intended PhD programme with Sussex before applying.

Who is excluded

  • Current doctoral researchers (anyone who has already started doctoral study).
  • Applicants who do not meet the identity and residence criteria described above.

Sussex also states: “We welcome applications regardless of age, disability, religion, sex, gender identity or sexual orientation.”

How to apply: one application, one deadline

Sussex is explicit: “There is a single deadline and application process for both a place on a PhD course at Sussex and the AHRC DLA scholarship funding.” You do not send a separate funding form. Your PhD application is the scholarship application.

New applicants

  1. Identify a PhD programme in the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities that fits your research, then check its specific entry requirements and supervisory fit.
  2. Look for a potential supervisor whose interests match your project. Sussex says you “may discuss your application with a proposed supervisor in advance”, but “You should not ask your proposed supervisor for written comments on your sample of work or research proposal.” If you do not name one, Sussex says it will match you with a supervisor during assessment.
  3. Create an account on PG Apply, the Sussex postgraduate application system, if you are a new applicant or are making a new application for this year’s entry.
  4. In the same application, “Enter ‘AHRC DLA STUART HALL FOUNDATION 2027’ in the ‘sources of funding’ box” (see the next section on wording).
  5. Include degree certificates and two academic references. Sussex’s general PhD page says references should include one from your most recent university, and that you can instead give referee contact details so Sussex emails them.
  6. Upload a sample of work: “either a written essay of up to 5,000 words, or an equivalent creative practice output.”
  7. Upload your research proposal (see below), plus the other documents Sussex’s general PhD application asks for: transcripts (with certified translations if the originals are not in English), a CV and, where applicable, an English language qualification.
  8. Submit by 4pm GMT on Thursday 10 December 2026. Sussex warns: “Incomplete applications without the full list of requirements above, including full and complete references, will not be considered beyond the deadline.”

The Sussex advert’s “apply for a place on a PhD programme” link points to an archive address that returned a “page not found” error when checked on 19 October 2026. Use the current Sussex how-to-apply page in Official sources and the apply button at the end of this guide instead.

Research proposal and sample of work

For the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities, Sussex’s research proposal guidance sets a length of 2,000 words and these sections:

  • Title: “Provide a provisional working title for your research.”
  • Introduction: “write a brief paragraph summarising your proposed research project.”
  • Research contribution: your main research questions and why they matter, your original contribution, critical engagement with existing research, how your research “connects with the interests of current researchers at Sussex”, and, for creative practice, the form of the outputs.
  • Research methods: how you will carry out the project (including any archives, databases, specialist libraries or technical equipment), facilities and experience for creative practice, an optional practice portfolio, and ethical considerations.
  • Timeline: a plan to complete within 3.5 years full-time or seven years part-time, broken into 6-month periods.
  • References.

The proposal carries real weight, because its quality is the first of the three published assessment criteria. The sample of work sits alongside it, so choose an essay or creative output that shows the kind of thinking your project needs, not simply your highest mark.

Holders of a deferred Sussex PhD offer

If you already hold a confirmed place on a Sussex PhD programme and have deferred to start in autumn 2027:

  1. Do not create a new account. Log in to PG Apply with your existing one.
  2. If you wish, upload a new sample of work and title the document “AHRC DLA Stuart Hall revised application 2026-27”.
  3. Email [email protected] confirming that you have provided revised written work and wish to be considered for a scholarship again this year.

The funding-box wording: settle it early

The Sussex advert and the parent advert print different text for the “sources of funding” box:

  • The Sussex advert for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships says to enter ‘AHRC DLA STUART HALL FOUNDATION 2027’.
  • The parent AHRC Doctoral Landscape Award advert says to enter ‘AHRC DLA 2027 (OR AHRC DLA STUART HALL 2027)’.

The deferred-offer document titles also differ slightly (“AHRC DLA Stuart Hall revised application 2026-27” on the Sussex advert, “AHRC DLA revised application 2026-27” on the parent advert).

Neither page says which version Sussex treats as definitive. If you are applying for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships, follow the Sussex advert for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships, because it is the page written for this award. The Sussex advert says to enter this text in the box “to specify that you wish to be considered for the scholarship funding”, but it does not say what happens if the text is missing or worded differently. If you need clarification, email [email protected] well before 10 December and keep the reply.

How applications are judged, and the timeline

Sussex says: “All applications will be assessed on the quality of the research proposal, the candidate’s suitability for doctoral research, and the fit with the supervisory team and wider research environment. You are not required to include any details of a potential placement in your application.”

The parent advert says the two Stuart Hall Foundation studentships “will be open to the highest ranked applicants who are eligible” under the two definitions above. The 2027 pages do not say whether interviews are held, who sits on the panel, or what role the Foundation plays in the final decision, and they do not say whether eligible applicants who miss out are automatically considered for the other DLA places.

MilestoneDate as printedNotes
Applicant webinarWednesday 18 November 2026, 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM GMTOnline (Teams); registration required
Deadline10 December 2026, 16:00 GMTOne deadline for the PhD place and the funding
PhD offersBy 13th March 2027Offers of a place on a Sussex PhD programme
Funding decisionsBy 30th April 2027AHRC DLA funding, including Stuart Hall
StartAutumn 2027The advert says October 2027

The webinar ticket page says the Teams link “will be emailed out 24 hours prior to the event.” The session includes an introduction from the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities Lead for Postgraduate Research, an overview from the Stuart Hall Foundation Academic Committee on the Foundation and its peer network, experiences from a past AHRC award recipient, guidance on the application process and timeline, and “Information about an upcoming application writing workshop.” The workshop date is not published. Applicants can use the session to hear about the application process and ask questions about eligibility and funding-box wording.

Note the gap between the two decision dates. You may hear about your PhD place by 13th March 2027 and wait until 30th April 2027 to learn whether the studentship is yours. Plan any other applications or job decisions with that in mind.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Submitting an incomplete file. References that are not “full and complete” by the deadline can end the application. Ask referees early, and decide whether to upload letters or give contact details.
  • Leaving the funding box blank or vague. The Sussex advert tells you to enter the funding wording in the “sources of funding” box, so copy it exactly rather than leaving it out or paraphrasing it.
  • Treating the deadline as midnight. It is 16:00 GMT on 10 December 2026.
  • Using the broken advert link. The archive apply link on the advert returned an error on 19 October 2026; use the current Sussex pages.
  • Asking a supervisor to edit your proposal or sample. Discussion is allowed; written comments on those documents are not.
  • Writing a generic proposal. Sussex asks how your research connects with current Sussex researchers, and fit with the supervisory team is a stated criterion.
  • Relying on figures that the official pages do not confirm. Treat £21,805 a year as the 2026-2027 stipend rate and the parent advert’s research grants of up to £2,000 as a parent-advert figure. Neither is a confirmed 2027-28 amount for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships.
  • Assuming the placement must be planned now. Sussex says you are not required to include placement details in the application.

Contacts

The Stuart Hall Foundation says “All scholarships are awarded by our partner institutions”, so send application and funding questions to Sussex rather than the Foundation.

FAQ

Is the stipend £24,805?

No. The official figure is a stipend at UK Research Council rates, “currently £21,805 p.a.”, which the parent advert dates to 2026-2027. The 2027-28 rate is not stated.

Can international students apply for the Stuart Hall Foundation studentships?

No. The eligible country is the United Kingdom only, and both definitions require UK-permanent residence. The wider Sussex AHRC Doctoral Landscape Award competition accepts international students, but the AHRC covers only the home fee rate there.

Is it only for Black British applicants?

No. British people from an ethnic minority background are also eligible, including any Black or Asian ethnic group and ethnic minority groups such as Gypsy, Roma and Irish Traveller groups.

Does my research have to be about race or social justice?

No such topic rule is printed. Your research must fall within the AHRC remit and be hosted in the Faculty of Media, Arts and Humanities, and you are assessed on proposal quality, suitability for doctoral research and supervisory fit.

Is there an “up to £3,000” research allowance?

Not on the 2027 pages. The Sussex advert says “some research and training costs”. The parent advert says Research and Training Support Grants of up to £2,000, with possible extra funds for high-cost fieldwork.

Is this a four-year or “1 + 3” master’s and PhD package?

No such package is described for 2027. The scholarship runs for 3.75 years for a PhD, including the 3-month placement, or 7.25 years part-time.

Can I study part-time?

Yes. Sussex makes no distinction between full-time and part-time in selection, and part-time students get the same funding spread over 7.25 years.

Are there interviews, and does the Foundation choose the winners?

Not stated for 2027. Sussex’s general PhD pages say some applicants may be asked to attend an interview, but the studentship pages say nothing about interviews or the Foundation’s role in selection.

I already have a deferred Sussex PhD offer. Do I apply again?

Not from scratch. Log in to PG Apply with your existing account, optionally upload a revised sample of work titled “AHRC DLA Stuart Hall revised application 2026-27”, and email [email protected].

I have already started a PhD. Can I switch onto this funding?

No. Current doctoral researchers are not eligible for scholarships through the Landscape Award.

If I miss out on a Stuart Hall Foundation place, am I considered for the other AHRC awards?

Not stated. The parent advert describes up to six awards including up to two Stuart Hall Foundation scholarships, but it does not say unsuccessful applicants move automatically into the general pool. Ask [email protected].

Does the studentship pay for my move or visa?

No. It “does not cover relocation, visa, or NHS surcharge costs.”

Official sources

Add a comment Add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *